UNIPSIL Banner UN Website

UNIPSILUnited Nations Integrated Peacebuilding Office in Sierra Leone

Home Site Map Contact Us Webmail

06:49:26, Sunday, 01 Mar 2015
LATEST NEWS | 01 Mar 2015 - Two Shot at Charlotte Club Featuring Rappers TI, Young Jeezy - NBCNews.com; 01 Mar 2015 - Knicks' Tim Hardaway Jr. calls Anthony Mason 'great guy' - New York Daily News; 01 Mar 2015 - US-Israel ties fraying over Netanyahu speech, Iran talks - Reuters; 01 Mar 2015 - Jihadi John: Mohammed Emwazi's school attended by three terrorists - Telegraph.co.uk; 01 Mar 2015 - Reports of possible deal on DHS funding reignites chatter about Boehner ouster - Fox News; 01 Mar 2015 - Boris Nemtsov murder: Thousands set to march in Moscow - BBC News; 01 Mar 2015 - Annual report offers new clues about Buffett's successor - San Antonio Express-News; 01 Mar 2015 - Southwest gets snow; California also getting rain - Chron.com; 01 Mar 2015 - Rand Paul wins CPAC straw poll for third year in row - New York Post; 01 Mar 2015 - Venezuela to Shrink US Embassy, Require Visas - Wall Street Journal; 01 Mar 2015 - On Zero Discrimination Day, UN urges tolerance for diversity; 28 Feb 2015 - Security Council strongly deplores ISIL&#39s &#39barbarism,&#39 says resolve stiffened to defeat group ; 28 Feb 2015 - In Chile, UN chief says &#39time to take stand&#39 for gender equality; 28 Feb 2015 - Ban voices shock, condemnation at Russian politician&#39s &#39brutal killing' 27 Feb 2015 - Humanitarian community must move quickly to halt cholera spread in Malawi – UN; 27 Feb 2015 - ‘Political will, steady action’ can end violence against children, UN envoy tells Indonesia; 27 Feb 2015 - Ban reiterates condemnation of Boko Haram attacks, urges efforts to combat terrorist threat; 27 Feb 2015 - Urging international action, UNESCO chief condemns ISIL’s ‘cultural cleansing’ in Iraq; 27 Feb 2015 - Partnerships ‘central’ to post-2015 agenda, says UN Economic, Social Council President;

The Cabinet

The legislature in Sierra Leone, which is mainly the Parliament, consists of the President, the Speaker and Members of Parliament. Parliament makes laws for the peace, security, order, and good governance in Sierra Leone. The current parliament in the November 2012 Parliamentary elections is made up of  two political parties with the following representations; All People's Congress (APC) 67 seats and the Sierra Leone People's Party (SLPP) 42 seats. There are also 8 Paramount Chiefs in parliament. One representing each district in the country.


The Executive is the Supreme Administrative body of the country. The President who is also the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces heads it. The Vice President and cabinet ministers assist the President in running the affairs of the state.


His Excellency Ernest Bai Koroma
His Excellency
Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma

Vice President Alhaji Sam Sumana
Alhaji Sahr S. Sam-Sumana


Below is a list of President's Ernest Bai Koroma Cabinet: 


Ministers and Deputy Ministers

Dr. Kaifala Marah
Minister of Finance and Development
Deputy Minister: Ms Mabinty Daramy

Dr. Samura M. W. Kamara 
Minister of Foreign Affairs
Deputy Minister: Dr. Ebun Jusu

Dr. J. B. Dauda
Minister of Internal Affairs
Deputy Minister: Mr. Sheka Tarawalie

Franklyn Bai Kargbo
Minister of Justice and Attorney-General
Deputy Minister: Mr. Arrow Bockarie

Alhaji Alpha Kanu
Minister of Information and Communications
Deputy Minister: Theophilus Nicol

Alhaji Osman Boie Kamara
Minister of Trade and Industry
Deputy Minister: Mr. Ali B. Mansaray

Major Rtd. Alfred Paolo Conteh
Minister of Defence

Dr. Minkailu Bah
Minister of Education, Science and Technology
Deputy Ministers: Mr. Sylvester O. Hanciles
                        Mr. Mamoud Tarawali

Mr. Alimamy P. Koroma
Minister of Works, Housing and Infrastructural Development
Deputy Minister: Mr. A. B. Barrie

Mr. Oluniyi Robbin-Coker
Minister of Energy
Deputy Minister: Mr. M. Bash-Kamara

Capt. Momodu Alieu Pat-Sowe
Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources
Deputy Minister: Mr. Charles Rogers

Mr. Vandi Chidi Minah
Minister of Transport and Aviation
Deputy Minister: Mr. Ibrahim Mansaray

Mr. Moijue Kai Kai
Minister of Social Welfare, Gender and Children's Affairs
Deputy Minister: Mr. Mustapha Bai Attila

Alhaji Minkailu Mansaray
Minister of Mines and Mineral Resources
Deputy Minister: Mr. Abdul Ignosis Koroma

 Dr. Joseph Sam Sesay
Minister of Agriculture, Food Security & Forestry
Deputy Ministers: Mrs. Marie Jalloh, Mr. Lovell Thomas

Ms. Diana Konomani
Minister of Local Government and Rural Development
Deputy Minister: Mr. Ibrahim H. Kalokoh

Mr. Musa Tarawally
Minister of Lands, Country Planning & the Environment
Deputy Minister: Mr. Ahmed Kanu

Mr. Momodu Maligi
Minister of Water Resources
Deputy Minister: Mr. Randolph Foday Bayoh

Ms. Miatta Kargbo
Minister of Health and Sanitation
Deputy Ministers: Dr. Abubakarr Fofanah
                Mr. Foday Sawi

Dr. Matthew Teambo
Minister of Labour and Social Security
Deputy Minister: Mr. Augustine Nyuma Kortu

Mr. Alimamy Kamara
Minister of Youth Affairs
Deputy Minister: Miss Feremusu Konte

Mr. Paul Kamara
Minister of Sports
Deputy Minister: Mr. Ishmail Al-Sankoh Conteh

Alhaji Ibrahim Kemoh Sesay
Minister of Political and Public Affairs
Deputy Minister: Mr. Karamoh Kabba

Mr. Peter Bayuku Konte
Minister of Tourism and Culture
Deputy Minister: Miss Kadie Sesay

Ministers of State

Mr. Momodu Kargbo
Minister of State, Ministry of Finance and Economic Development
Alhaji F. B. L. Mansaray
Minister of State, Ministry of Finance and Economic Development
Mrs. Harriet Turay
Minister of State, Office of the Vice President

Resident Ministers

Mr. William Juana Smith
Resident Minister, East

Mr. Muctarr Conteh
Resident Minister, South

Alie D. Kamara
Resident Minister, North


Office of the President
Mr. E. B. Osho Coker
Secretary to the President
Dr. Richard Konteh
Chief of Staff
Dr. Sylvia Blyden
Special Executive Assistant to the President